Follow

Changing an employee’s name in Culture Amp


Your employee data comes into the Culture Amp platform via a manual or automated data sync. In either case, the employee data you are importing is treated as the source of truth. In most cases, newly imported data will overwrite the existing data in the Culture Amp platform. 

An employee’s name in import data often reflects an employee's legal name as it appears on their government documentation, such as a driver's license or passport. This can be problematic within the Culture Amp platform when an employee’s legal name is different from the name by which they are known to colleagues. 

Preventing automatic updates to an employee’s name

In instances like this, you can manually change an employee’s name in the Culture Amp platform and protect the updated name from being overwritten by future employee data imports. You can do this without impacting, editing, or changing your source data in any way. This maintains data integrity in your employee data source. 

Once this process is complete, the employee’s updated name will appear throughout the Culture Amp platform.

How to change and protect an employee’s name

To update an employee’s name and protect it from being overwritten by future data imports, follow these steps: 

  1. click Settings button
  2. click Users
  3. find employee in User Profiles list
  4. Click the users name (the user edit drawer will expand from screen-right)
  5. click Personal Information (the employee’s personal information will appear) 
  6. click into the name field and update the text to reflect the employee's amended full name, ensuring this is NOT a partial name. Example: if you are changing an employee’s name from “Samantha Jones” to “Sammy Jones” ensure that the name field reads “Sammy Jonesnot justSammy” 
  7. click to check the Prevent Automatic Updates to Name check-box
  8. click Save & Exit

Once this process is complete, the employee’s updated name will display throughout the platform and be prevented from being overwritten by future employee data imports. 

Reversing the name overwrite protection 

To reverse the overwrite protection for an employee that has had their name changed, follow these steps. 

  1. click Settings button
  2. click Users
  3. find the employee in the User Profiles list
  4. click the user's name (the user edit drawer will expand from screen-right)
  5. click Personal Information (the employee’s personal information will appear) 
  6. click to uncheck the Prevent Automatic Updates to Name check-box
  7. click Save & Exit

Once this process has been completed, the employee's name will be updated by the next employee data import. 

Should you need the name reversion to take immediate effect, you are able to edit the name field to represent the employee's name. This name will be subject to change in future employee data imports. 

Related employee filtering 

You are able to filter your user profile list to surface users who have had their names protected. To do this, follow these steps: 

  1. click Settings button
  2. click Users
  3. click the Filter by status drop-down in the User profiles section. 
  4. click Automatic name updates prevented

Once this process is complete, your user list in the user profile section will be filtered by the Automatic name-updated prevented status. Users with this status will appear at the top of the User profiles list. Names with the Automatic name updated prevented status will be represented with a blue padlock icon in their user profile listing. 



Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments