Managers can now share peer and upward feedback directly with their team in the context of a performance review cycle. As a result, employees should receive more actionable, specific and timely peer and upward feedback during a mid-year or year-end review cycle.
- Admins choose which questions will be shared
- Peers and direct reports provide feedback
- Admins allow managers to share feedback
- Managers share feedback
- Employee benefit from additional feedback
- Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
Sharing peer and upward feedback directly with employees is a great way for those organizations that would like employees to have access to their feedback earlier in the review process so that, for example, they can use it to inform their own self-reflections. It’s also possible to share feedback separately from manager reviews.
Admins ultimately control both which questions are shared, and when the responses to those questions can be shared back with employees. Even when Sharing has been enabled, a managers ability to share remains optional
Admins choose which questions will be shared
Similarly to the sharing of manager reviews, admins identify which peer and upward feedback questions can be shared on the Sharing step of the performance cycle creation wizard.
Peers and direct reports provide feedback
When reviewers are invited to complete feedback, they will now see a visibility tag on each of the questions identifying whether their response will be shared with the reviewee. Hovering over the Will be shared… tag indicates that their response will also be attributed when/if shared.
Admins allow managers to share feedback
Similarly to sharing of manager reviews, admins ultimately determine when peer and upward feedback can be shared back with employees. Admins enable sharing for both feedback and manager reviews from a new Sharing tab in their admin dashboard.
Sharing Peer and Upward feedback will however not be possible if the Manager Review stage has not yet been completed for an individual.
Managers share feedback
When sharing is enabled by an admin, managers receive a task in their task list, dropping them into a new Sharing tab on their manager dashboard for the applicable performance review cycle.
Managers can choose to preview all of the shared feedback prior to sharing it simply by clicking on the row of one of their direct reports.
Depending on whether sharing has been enabled for both feedback and manager reviews, managers can choose to share the two independently or at the same time. They can also choose to share individually or in bulk with all of their direct reports at the same time.
Managers will see a pop-up notification
Employees benefit from additional feedback
Once shared, employees will receive an email, Slack or MS Teams notification, as well as an in-app notification directing them to their shared feedback. They can also choose to access their shared feedback from the menu by navigating to Reviews > Your performance reviews.
Can feedback be shared anonymously?
No, feedback cannot be shared anonymously. This is largely because of the benefits of attributed feedback, which is more likely to result in thoughtful, balanced feedback and less likely to be abused.
What happens if someone provides inappropriate feedback?
In the unlikely event that a reviewer provides inappropriate feedback that should not be shared back with an employee, admins and HRBPs now have the ability to delete completed feedback. Once deleted, it will no longer appear anywhere in the platform.
Admins can click to the line item for the participant under the Peer & Upward Feedback tab of the cycle and then click to the Feedback completed tab
From there, admins or HRBPs will have the option to click to the X icon to delete the feedback
A pop-up notification will appear as a warning
Can managers choose to only share certain feedback?
No, managers cannot remove responses from the feedback being shared. As mentioned above, the only way to remove completed feedback is for an admin or HRBP to delete the feedback.
Can admins or HRBPs share feedback on behalf of managers?
Yes, similarly to sharing manager reviews, admins and HRBPs can share peer and upward feedback on behalf of managers – both individually and in bulk (via the Share all option). They can do both from the Sharing tab of their admin dashboard.
What happens if a user completes feedback after feedback has already been shared?
If a user completes feedback after previously completed feedback was already shared with the subject, the subject’s sharing status will be updated to reflect that new feedback is available on both the manager and admin dashboards. The manager or admin/HRBP can then choose to share that additional feedback.